Democratic Republic of Iran جمهوری دموکراتیک ایران

The Only Way Forward

Martyr Ali Saremi’s letter to the Iranian people in response to claims by Tehran Prosecutor

Political prisoner Ali Saremi Responds to the Unsubstantiated Claims by Tehran Prosecutor Abbas Jafari Dolatabadi.

 

By ALI SAREMI

 

In the name of God,

All honest people, those who stood by their pacts with God, were martyred. And others are still waiting to be martyred (Qur’an).

And me? I am still waiting!

Any right that is trampled on creates resistance and the oppressors are forced to oppress.

Dear compatriots, during an interview with the magazine Panjereh, reprinted in the state newspaper Keyhan, Mr. Dolatabadi accused me of being associated with the Peoples Mojahedin of Iran (PMOI). They even announced the date of my arrest as September 2009, a few months after the presidential election!

The true date of my arrest is September 2007, two years before the election. My trip to the Mujahedin Ashraf camp in Iraq was in 2005. I was sentenced to one year in prison for visiting my son in Camp Ashraf for a few days.

The reason I was arrested in 2007 was because I went to the mass grave site Khavaran to mourn the mass executions of 1989. But do you really believe that going to a cemetery or supporting an organization or a father visiting his son makes one an enemy of God and should be sentenced to death?

This is why I believe that the statement by the Tehran Prosecutor lacks any validity and does not merit a response. The charges are so baseless that they are even hesitant to present the sentence to my lawyer. They have reconfirmed this sentence without my signature or the signature of my lawyer!

Regardless, I shout out that even if they execute and hang me, they cannot scare me or my freedom-loving compatriots. I have scared them so much that they have no choice but to hang me. The only justification for sentences like this can be their fear of their own unstable situation. It has nothing to do with justice or fairness.

Now as a father whose children Farzad, Ali, Farhad, Shirin and Mehdi were recently hanged, and before that thousands of others, what can I do except shout out as a freedom-loving Iranian.

[Poem]

 

If you burn my body and sew it to a pole,

Can you steal love for the motherland from my soul?

 

Even if during my lifetime, including my 23 years of imprisonment, I was not able to pay my dues to God, to my people, and to my country, maybe my execution will wake people up.

To the people and my country, I shout out again:

“For the motherland, I sacrifice my body…Long live Iran”

Political prisoner, Ali Saremi

May 2010

Persian2English

Filed under: Ali Saremi, iran election, Iran News, Iranian protests, revolution, ایران iran,

Leave a Reply

Qods Day Protest

13 Aban Protest

16 Azar Protest

Ashura Protest

22 Bahman Protest

Chaharshanbe Suri Protest

22 Khordaad 89 Protest

Our perserverance is our sword, Our unity is our shield, AZADI… is our destiny!

Brave Women Of Iran

A special note we would like to share with the brave and beautiful women of Iran; You have shown extraordinary courage, passion, pride, humility and humanity in the face of great injustice. The world has taken notice and we are all humbled by your strength and determination. If you are the future, then we all are comforted by how bright it will shine.

The One Who Wishes To Move A Mountain, Must Start By Removing Stones

share this blog

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

